top of page

Seeking Gainful Employment

My recent job video game design instructor has ended. The school the company I was contracted with ended the contract. So now, I'm seeking gainful employment!

Ideally I would want something in the gaming industry. Remote opportunities are necessary as I am unable to leave Syracuse, NY, BUT, I can travel as needed to events and training.

A little bit of work history; I started my career as a video producer for Sinclair Broadcasting(2001). I created on air promos for syndicated shows for Fox, WB, and later MyTV. I was also responsible for creating station image promos, in doing so I earned 12 Syracuse Ad Club awards, a National Broadcasters award, and an Emmy nomination. I left Sinclair to head up the video production department of a local Clear Channel radio group(2007). I guided them into the age of social media and vlogging. Shortly after there was a mass layoff, myself and my entire department (as well as many others) were let go.

During this time I worked at several locations doing freelance video editing and production work. In (2010) my then wife and I started our own hair salon called All Dolled Up Salon. I handled all management duties including; inventory, marketing, payroll, staffing, and setting appointments. That same year I also started working for Apple Retail. I started out as a sales associate but shortly after became the In-Store Guest Trainer, a position that was exclusive to one per store. I helped design and deliver training for my store as well as 3 others in my region. During this time I on-boarded over 150 new employees.

Leaving Apple(2014) was a tough choice, but I wanted to get back into marketing and leave behind the retail hours. I worked for several digital marketing agencies managing clients, monitoring ad campaigns from SEO to Ad Words, influencer relations, event marketing, and various other tasks. After having been freelance for awhile I received a call from a friend who was familiar with my Twitch and asked if I wanted to teach game design at a middle school with a focus on Social Emotional Learning. Which brings us back to the beginning of this article!

On top of all these jobs from 2003-2013 I was the community manager for my region for the Yu-Gi-Oh trading card game. I ran tournaments, promoted special events, coordinated large events, and gathered media attention as needed. Currently I am a full-time Twitch streamer until the right opportunity comes along. Below is a snippet of my resume which mirrors what I've written above.

Cheers! And here's to a potential new venture of us working together!

Michael

michaelfight@me.com


bottom of page